Skip to content

Utah Nursing License: Lookup, Renewal, CE, and Fees

Utah is a Nurse Licensure Compact state. RNs renew every 2 years, complete 30 hours of continuing education per cycle, and pass the NCLEX-RN.

Utah Division of Professional Licensing (DOPL), Board of Nursing (Utah Department of Commerce)

Look up a Utah nursing license

The board's search shows license status, expiry date, and any public discipline. Nursys Quick Confirm is a free national check you can use as a second source.

Compact
Yes
Renewal
Every 2 years
CE per cycle
30 hours
1 required topic
Exam
NCLEX-RN
no state law exam
Initial fee
$60
Renewal fee
$68

Utah Division of Professional Licensing (DOPL), Board of Nursing (Utah Department of Commerce) · read 2026-09-02 · a dash means the board publishes no figure

Renewal and continuing education in Utah

Utah RN licenses renew every two years, expiring January 31 of odd-numbered years (LPN licenses expire January 31 of even years). The Utah Division of Professional Licensing (DOPL) mails a renewal notice at least 60 days before the license expires. Renewal requires 30 hours of continuing education, including at least one DOPL-listed online suicide prevention training. The board does not state what happens if a license lapses.

Renewing an RN license in Utah costs $68, compared with $60 for an initial license. These renewal fees cover the license itself; they do not include the cost of the NCLEX-RN exam or the fingerprint-based criminal background check, which are handled and paid for separately during the application process.

Required CE topics

  1. 1Suicide preventionat least one DOPL-listed online suicide prevention training (0.5 credit each: 'Suicide Safety Planning with Patients', 'Talking to Patients About Suicide', or 'Counseling on Access to Lethal Means') per renewal - DOPL RN/LPN renewal page

Utah Division of Professional Licensing (DOPL), Board of Nursing (Utah Department of Commerce) continuing education rules · read 2026-09-02

How much does a Utah RN license cost?

Initial license application
$60
Renewal, every 2 years
$68
NCLEX-RN registration
$200
paid to Pearson VUE, not the board

Board fees exclude exam registration and fingerprinting · Utah board fee schedule ↗ · read 2026-09-02

Moving to Utah: endorsement and temporary permits

Utah takes part in the Nurse Licensure Compact, which means a registered nurse who already holds a multistate license from another compact state may be able to practice in Utah without applying for a separate license, provided the nurse meets the compact's uniform licensure requirements. A nurse who does not hold a multistate license, or who is relocating to Utah permanently, applies for licensure by endorsement instead.

Endorsement applicants apply online through DOPL and pass the same fingerprint-based background check required of every applicant; DOPL notes that missing fingerprint cards are the leading cause of delays or denials. Graduates of programs Utah does not recognize as approved must show equivalency through a CGFNS Certification Program Verification Letter or otherwise meet Utah's endorsement standards. The initial license fee is $60. The board does not state whether a temporary permit is available, and it lists no separate state law exam or English test.

Education and exam for an RN license in Utah

Utah requires RN applicants to graduate from an approved nursing education program; the board's published materials do not specify whether associate, bachelor's, or diploma programs are treated differently. After graduating, candidates must pass the NCLEX-RN examination, and it must be passed within five years of graduation. The board does not list a separate state jurisprudence or law exam for RN licensure in Utah.

How to become an RN →

What do RNs earn in Utah?

Typical pay a year
$84,600
$40.67 an hour · 13% below the US figure
Entry level
$68,920
Top 10%
$109,050

BLS OES May 2025 · 27,420 RNs employed in Utah · RN salary in Utah by city →

Nearby states

StateCompactRenewalCE per cycleInitial feeLookup
UtahYesEvery 2 years30 hours$60Verify
ArizonaYesEvery 4 yearsNone$300Verify
ColoradoYesEvery 2 yearsNone—Verify
IdahoYesEvery 2 years—$102Verify
NevadaNoEvery 2 years30 hours$100Verify
WyomingYesEvery 2 years—$130Verify

Official boards of nursing · read 2026-09-02

Sources

Explore next

← Back to the national RN license guide