Skip to content

Nevada Nursing License: Lookup, Renewal, CE, and Fees

Nevada is not in the Nurse Licensure Compact, so its licenses are single-state. RNs renew every 2 years, complete 30 hours of continuing education per cycle, and pass the NCLEX-RN.

Nevada State Board of Nursing

Look up a Nevada nursing license

The board's search shows license status, expiry date, and any public discipline. Nursys Quick Confirm is a free national check you can use as a second source.

Compact
No
Renewal
Every 2 years
CE per cycle
30 hours
3 required topics
Exam
NCLEX-RN
no state law exam
Initial fee
$100
Renewal fee
$100

Nevada State Board of Nursing · read 2026-09-02 · a dash means the board publishes no figure

Renewal and continuing education in Nevada

Nevada RN licenses renew every 2 years. The board does not state which month renewal falls in. Renewal requires 30 hours of continuing education, including a one-time 4-hour bioterrorism course and 4 hours of cultural competency and diversity, equity and inclusion training at every renewal, up from 2 hours before January 1, 2024. Nurses in emergency or primary care must complete HIV and stigma training. To renew, a nurse must show practice or NCLEX passage within the previous five years, or complete a refresher course.

The renewal fee is $100, the same as the $100 initial license fee. These amounts do not include NCLEX exam fees or fingerprinting costs, which the board handles separately. Fingerprinting may also be required again at renewal; the board notifies nurses through the Nevada Nurse Portal when that applies.

Required CE topics

  1. 1bioterrorism 4 hr (one-time)
  2. 2cultural competency / diversity, equity and inclusion 4 hr (every renewal; raised from 2 hr effective January 1, 2024)
  3. 3HIV/stigma training (only for nurses providing or supervising emergency or primary care; within 2 years of beginning that care)

Nevada State Board of Nursing continuing education rules · read 2026-09-02

How much does a Nevada RN license cost?

Initial license application
$100
Renewal, every 2 years
$100
NCLEX-RN registration
$200
paid to Pearson VUE, not the board

Board fees exclude exam registration and fingerprinting · Nevada board fee schedule ↗ · read 2026-09-02

Moving to Nevada: endorsement and temporary permits

Nevada is not a member of the Nurse Licensure Compact, so a multistate license from another compact state does not authorize practice in Nevada. A registered nurse relocating to Nevada must apply for licensure by endorsement through the Nevada State Board of Nursing rather than relying on a compact privilege.

To apply by endorsement, a nurse applies through the Nevada Nurse Portal, requests a Nursys verification from the original state of licensure, and submits fingerprints for an FBI and Nevada DPS background check, which can take up to 4 months. The board may issue a one-time six-month temporary license while results are pending. The initial license fee is $100. The board does not state a jurisprudence exam, and applicants with five or more years of US licensure are exempt from the English exam.

Education and exam for an RN license in Nevada

To become licensed as an RN in Nevada, a candidate must graduate from a nursing program accredited by NLN CNEA, CCNE, or ACEN, whether the credential is an associate degree, bachelor's degree, or diploma, and pass the NCLEX-RN exam. International graduates need a TruMerit CES Professional Report or a Josef Silny evaluation of their credentials, and most must also pass an approved English proficiency exam unless they trained in a listed English-speaking country or have held a US license for five years or more.

How to become an RN →

What do RNs earn in Nevada?

Typical pay a year
$103,670
$49.84 an hour · 6% above the US figure
Entry level
$79,500
Top 10%
$133,270

BLS OES May 2025 · 27,070 RNs employed in Nevada · RN salary in Nevada by city →

Nearby states

StateCompactRenewalCE per cycleInitial feeLookup
NevadaNoEvery 2 years30 hours$100Verify
ArizonaYesEvery 4 yearsNone$300Verify
CaliforniaNoEvery 2 years30 hours$300Verify
IdahoYesEvery 2 years—$102Verify
OregonNoEvery 2 yearsNone$260Verify
UtahYesEvery 2 years30 hours$60Verify

Official boards of nursing · read 2026-09-02

Sources

Explore next

← Back to the national RN license guide