Skip to content

Oregon Nursing License: Lookup, Renewal, CE, and Fees

Oregon is not in the Nurse Licensure Compact, so its licenses are single-state. RNs renew every 2 years with no continuing education hours required, and pass the NCLEX-RN.

Oregon State Board of Nursing

Look up a Oregon nursing license

The board's search shows license status, expiry date, and any public discipline. Nursys Quick Confirm is a free national check you can use as a second source.

Compact
No
Renewal
Every 2 years
CE per cycle
None
2 required topics
Exam
NCLEX-RN
no state law exam
Initial fee
$260
Renewal fee
$245

Oregon State Board of Nursing · read 2026-09-02 · a dash means the board publishes no figure

Renewal and continuing education in Oregon

Oregon RN licenses are valid for two years from the date of issue, and renewal is due by 11:59 p.m. on the expiration date; the board does not tie renewal to a birth month or an even or odd year. Renewal requires completing an Oregon Health Authority workforce survey first, along with the required continuing education: a 1-hour pain management module every 36 months and 2 hours of cultural competency training every 48 months. The board does not state what happens if a license lapses.

Renewing an Oregon RN license costs $245, compared with $260 for an initial license. These renewal and initial fees do not include the cost of the NCLEX-RN exam or the national fingerprint-based background check, which the board requires separately for exam applicants and handles through Fieldprint after the application is submitted.

Required CE topics

  1. 1pain management 1 hr (Oregon Pain Management Commission module) every 36 months
  2. 2cultural competency 2 hr every 48 months

Oregon State Board of Nursing continuing education rules · read 2026-09-02

How much does a Oregon RN license cost?

Initial license application
$260
Renewal, every 2 years
$245
NCLEX-RN registration
$200
paid to Pearson VUE, not the board

Board fees exclude exam registration and fingerprinting · Oregon board fee schedule ↗ · read 2026-09-02

Moving to Oregon: endorsement and temporary permits

Oregon is not part of the Nurse Licensure Compact, so a multistate license from another compact state does not allow a nurse to practice in Oregon. Any nurse moving to Oregon from another state, whether or not that state participates in the compact, must apply for an Oregon RN license by endorsement.

Endorsement applicants must currently hold, or have held, an active RN license in another state. Oregon requires a national fingerprint-based criminal background check for these applicants, along with the same 1-hour pain management module required for renewal, completed within the past 36 months, and continuing education under the board's rules. The endorsement fee is $295 plus a $9 surcharge. Oregon does not offer a temporary permit or require a separate state jurisprudence exam, and does not state an English-proficiency test requirement for endorsement applicants.

Education and exam for an RN license in Oregon

Oregon requires graduation from an approved nursing program, whether a diploma, associate degree, or bachelor's degree, with submission of an official transcript, followed by passing the NCLEX-RN exam; the state does not require a separate Oregon jurisprudence or law exam. Applicants educated outside the United States, or graduates of programs without an NCLEX code, must also submit a course-by-course credential evaluation from an approved agency. The board does not state an English-proficiency test requirement for these applicants.

How to become an RN →

What do RNs earn in Oregon?

Typical pay a year
$129,010
$62.02 an hour · 32% above the US figure
Entry level
$95,280
Top 10%
$155,010

BLS OES May 2025 · 39,730 RNs employed in Oregon · RN salary in Oregon by city →

Nearby states

StateCompactRenewalCE per cycleInitial feeLookup
OregonNoEvery 2 yearsNone$260Verify
CaliforniaNoEvery 2 years30 hours$300Verify
IdahoYesEvery 2 years—$102Verify
NevadaNoEvery 2 years30 hours$100Verify
WashingtonYesEvery year8 hours$138Verify

Official boards of nursing · read 2026-09-02

Sources

Explore next

← Back to the national RN license guide