Skip to content

Washington Nursing License: Lookup, Renewal, CE, and Fees

Washington is a Nurse Licensure Compact state. RNs renew every year, complete 8 hours of continuing education per cycle, and pass the NCLEX-RN.

Washington State Board of Nursing (WABON; formerly Nursing Care Quality Assurance Commission, under the Department of Health)

Look up a Washington nursing license

The board's search shows license status, expiry date, and any public discipline. Nursys Quick Confirm is a free national check you can use as a second source.

Compact
Yes
since 2023-07-24
Renewal
Every year
CE per cycle
8 hours
2 required topics
Exam
NCLEX-RN
no state law exam
Initial fee
$138
Renewal fee
$138

Washington State Board of Nursing (WABON; formerly Nursing Care Quality Assurance Commission, under the Department of Health) · read 2026-09-02 · a dash means the board publishes no figure

Renewal and continuing education in Washington

Washington RN licenses renew every year, expiring on the licensee's birthday; the board opens online renewal 85 to 90 days before that expiration date. Renewal requires completing 8 hours of continuing education, including 2 hours on health equity each renewal period and, one time only, 6 hours of suicide assessment, treatment, and management training. The profile does not state what happens to a license that lapses without renewal.

Renewal costs $138, the same amount charged for the initial license. The NCLEX exam fee through Pearson VUE and the fingerprint-based background check are separate processes tied to initial licensure, not part of the annual renewal itself. Washington also requires renewing nurses to submit demographic data as part of the renewal process.

Required CE topics

  1. 1health equity 2 hrs per renewal period (WAC 246-840-222; currently licensed RNs had until their 2026 renewal to complete the first cycle)
  2. 2suicide assessment, treatment and management 6 hrs one-time (qualified suicide prevention training program)

Washington State Board of Nursing (WABON; formerly Nursing Care Quality Assurance Commission, under the Department of Health) continuing education rules · read 2026-09-02

How much does a Washington RN license cost?

Initial license application
$138
Renewal, a year
$138
NCLEX-RN registration
$200
paid to Pearson VUE, not the board

Board fees exclude exam registration and fingerprinting · Washington board fee schedule ↗ · read 2026-09-02

Moving to Washington: endorsement and temporary permits

Washington joined the Nurse Licensure Compact on July 24, 2023, so a registered nurse who already holds a multistate license from another compact state can practice in Washington under that multistate privilege without applying for a separate Washington license. A nurse whose home-state license is not a multistate compact license must instead apply for licensure by endorsement to practice in Washington.

An RN applying by endorsement must hold an active license in another U.S. state, or an expired U.S. license paired with an active Canadian license, and must show at least 1,000 hours of active nursing practice in another U.S. state. The application requires a fingerprint-based background check and a $138 license fee; Washington offers a temporary permit. The board names no separate jurisprudence exam, though foreign-educated applicants may need an English proficiency test unless prior education or experience meets the board's exemptions.

Education and exam for an RN license in Washington

Washington requires graduation from an approved nursing education program; the board does not specify whether that means an associate degree, bachelor's degree, or diploma program. Candidates must pass the NCLEX-RN exam, administered through Pearson VUE, and the board names no separate state jurisprudence exam. Starting January 30, 2026, an applicant who fails the NCLEX-RN four times must complete a board-approved NCLEX preparation course before attempting the exam again.

How to become an RN →

What do RNs earn in Washington?

Typical pay a year
$124,200
$59.71 an hour · 27% above the US figure
Entry level
$89,630
Top 10%
$161,910

BLS OES May 2025 · 69,260 RNs employed in Washington · RN salary in Washington by city →

Nearby states

StateCompactRenewalCE per cycleInitial feeLookup
WashingtonYesEvery year8 hours$138Verify
IdahoYesEvery 2 years—$102Verify
OregonNoEvery 2 yearsNone$260Verify

Official boards of nursing · read 2026-09-02

Sources

Explore next

← Back to the national RN license guide