Skip to content

Arkansas Nursing License: Lookup, Renewal, CE, and Fees

Arkansas is a Nurse Licensure Compact state. RNs renew every 2 years, complete 15 hours of continuing education per cycle, and pass the NCLEX-RN.

Arkansas State Board of Nursing

Look up a Arkansas nursing license

The board's search shows license status, expiry date, and any public discipline. Nursys Quick Confirm is a free national check you can use as a second source.

Compact
Yes
since 2018-01-19
Renewal
Every 2 years
CE per cycle
15 hours
Exam
NCLEX-RN
no state law exam
Initial fee
$100
Renewal fee
$100

Arkansas State Board of Nursing · read 2026-09-02 · a dash means the board publishes no figure

Renewal and continuing education in Arkansas

Arkansas RN licenses renew every two years, expiring at the end of the license holder's birth month under a staggered system; a first-time license may run anywhere from 3 to 27 months to line up with that cycle. Renewal requires completing 15 hours of continuing education. The board does not state what happens to a license that lapses without renewal.

Renewing an Arkansas RN license costs $100, the same as the $100 fee charged for the initial license. These fees cover the license itself only; the board notes that NCLEX exam registration through Pearson and the state and FBI fingerprint-based background check are handled and paid separately.

How much does a Arkansas RN license cost?

Initial license application
$100
Renewal, every 2 years
$100
NCLEX-RN registration
$200
paid to Pearson VUE, not the board

Board fees exclude exam registration and fingerprinting · Arkansas board fee schedule ↗ · read 2026-09-02

Moving to Arkansas: endorsement and temporary permits

Arkansas belongs to the Nurse Licensure Compact, effective January 19, 2018. A registered nurse whose primary state of residence is another compact state already holds a multistate license valid to practice in Arkansas and cannot be issued a separate Arkansas license. Nurses whose primary residence is a non-compact state, or who plan to make Arkansas their home state, apply for an Arkansas license through endorsement instead.

To apply by endorsement, a nurse submits an application through the ASBN Nurse Portal for $125, completes a state and FBI criminal background check, and obtains license verification through Nursys or, for non-Nursys states, the board's own verification form. Arkansas issues temporary permits. A nurse who has been out of active practice for more than five years must complete an Arkansas-approved refresher course or graduate from an approved program within a year of applying.

Education and exam for an RN license in Arkansas

The board does not specify a particular nursing degree requirement, only that candidates must pass the NCLEX-RN exam. Graduates typically apply about 60 days before finishing their program; the application stays valid for one year, and an official transcript must be submitted before results are released. Applicants register for the NCLEX-RN with Pearson either before or along with the state application. Internationally educated nurses use a separate application track with a $200 fee.

How to become an RN →

What do RNs earn in Arkansas?

Typical pay a year
$78,940
$37.95 an hour · 19% below the US figure
Entry level
$60,780
Top 10%
$103,660

BLS OES May 2025 · 29,400 RNs employed in Arkansas · RN salary in Arkansas by city →

Nearby states

StateCompactRenewalCE per cycleInitial feeLookup
ArkansasYesEvery 2 years15 hours$100Verify
LouisianaYesEvery 2 years30 hours$100Verify
MissouriYesEvery 2 yearsNone$0Verify
MississippiYesEvery 2 years—$100Verify
OklahomaYesEvery 2 years24 hours$85Verify
TennesseeYesEvery 2 years—$150Verify
TexasYesEvery 2 years20 hours$75Verify

Official boards of nursing · read 2026-09-02

Sources

Explore next

← Back to the national RN license guide