Skip to content

Oklahoma Nursing License: Lookup, Renewal, CE, and Fees

Oklahoma is a Nurse Licensure Compact state. RNs renew every 2 years, complete 24 hours of continuing education per cycle, and pass the NCLEX-RN.

Oklahoma Board of Nursing

Look up a Oklahoma nursing license

The board's search shows license status, expiry date, and any public discipline. Nursys Quick Confirm is a free national check you can use as a second source.

Compact
Yes
Renewal
Every 2 years
CE per cycle
24 hours
Exam
NCLEX-RN
no state law exam
Initial fee
$85
Renewal fee
$75

Oklahoma Board of Nursing · read 2026-09-02 · a dash means the board publishes no figure

Renewal and continuing education in Oklahoma

Oklahoma RN licenses renew every two years, expiring on the last day of the license holder's birth month in even-numbered years. Renewal requires 24 contact hours of continuing education, though the board does not specify particular mandatory topics. The profile does not state what happens if a license lapses without renewal.

Renewing an Oklahoma RN license costs $75, compared with the $85 fee charged for an initial license. These renewal fees do not include the cost of the NCLEX-RN examination or the fingerprint-based state and federal background check required of initial applicants, both of which are billed separately during the licensing process.

How much does a Oklahoma RN license cost?

Initial license application
$85
Renewal, every 2 years
$75
NCLEX-RN registration
$200
paid to Pearson VUE, not the board

Board fees exclude exam registration and fingerprinting · Oklahoma board fee schedule ↗ · read 2026-09-02

Moving to Oklahoma: endorsement and temporary permits

Oklahoma belongs to the Nurse Licensure Compact, so a registered nurse who holds a multistate license issued by another compact state may practice in Oklahoma without applying for a separate Oklahoma license. A nurse coming from a state that is not part of the compact, or one who wants a single-state Oklahoma license, must apply for licensure by endorsement.

Endorsement applicants pay an $85 fee and have their license verified through Nursys, or directly through the original licensing state if that state does not participate in Nursys. Applicants must show proof of continued qualification to practice, such as 520 work hours in the past five years or 24 continuing education contact hours, and must complete a fingerprint-based state and federal background check. Oklahoma does not require a separate state jurisprudence exam. The board does issue temporary permits.

Education and exam for an RN license in Oklahoma

Oklahoma requires applicants to graduate from a board-approved registered nursing program, whether a diploma, associate degree, or bachelor's degree program, with a transcript showing the degree or diploma conferred. The curriculum must cover adult, pediatric, maternal-newborn, and psychiatric-mental health nursing. After completing an approved program, candidates must pass the NCLEX-RN. The board does not require a separate state jurisprudence or nursing law examination.

How to become an RN →

What do RNs earn in Oklahoma?

Typical pay a year
$82,920
$39.87 an hour · 15% below the US figure
Entry level
$60,530
Top 10%
$106,390

BLS OES May 2025 · 38,270 RNs employed in Oklahoma · RN salary in Oklahoma by city →

Nearby states

StateCompactRenewalCE per cycleInitial feeLookup
OklahomaYesEvery 2 years24 hours$85Verify
ArkansasYesEvery 2 years15 hours$100Verify
ColoradoYesEvery 2 yearsNone—Verify
KansasYesEvery 2 years30 hours$100Verify
MissouriYesEvery 2 yearsNone$0Verify
New MexicoYesEvery 2 years30 hours$150Verify
TexasYesEvery 2 years20 hours$75Verify

Official boards of nursing · read 2026-09-02

Sources

Explore next

← Back to the national RN license guide