Skip to content

Mississippi Nursing License: Lookup, Renewal, CE, and Fees

Mississippi is a Nurse Licensure Compact state. RNs renew every 2 years, and pass the NCLEX-RN.

Mississippi Board of Nursing

Look up a Mississippi nursing license

The board's search shows license status, expiry date, and any public discipline. Nursys Quick Confirm is a free national check you can use as a second source.

Compact
Yes
Renewal
Every 2 years
CE per cycle
—
Exam
NCLEX-RN
no state law exam
Initial fee
$100
Renewal fee
$100

Mississippi Board of Nursing · read 2026-09-02 · a dash means the board publishes no figure

Renewal and continuing education in Mississippi

Registered nurse licenses in Mississippi renew every two years, expiring on December 31 of even-numbered years, with the renewal window opening July 1 of the renewal year under a schedule that took effect July 1, 2025. The board does not state specific continuing education hours or competency requirements for renewal, and it does not state what happens if a license lapses; nurses should confirm those details directly with the Mississippi Board of Nursing.

Renewing a Mississippi RN license costs $100, the same as the $100 fee for an initial license. Beyond that fee, related costs are handled separately: the NCLEX-RN exam runs $200 through Pearson VUE, and the fingerprint-based criminal background check required for licensure, performed only by the Mississippi Board, costs $75. These are not renewal fees themselves but expenses nurses may encounter at other points in the licensing process.

How much does a Mississippi RN license cost?

Initial license application
$100
Renewal, every 2 years
$100
NCLEX-RN registration
$200
paid to Pearson VUE, not the board

Board fees exclude exam registration and fingerprinting · Mississippi board fee schedule ↗ · read 2026-09-02

Moving to Mississippi: endorsement and temporary permits

Mississippi is a party state in the Nurse Licensure Compact, which took its current form on January 19, 2018. A registered nurse arriving from another compact state with a multistate license can practice in Mississippi without a separate application, as long as Mississippi is not that nurse's primary state of residence. A nurse relocating to Mississippi permanently, or moving from a non-compact state, must apply for a Mississippi license through endorsement instead.

Endorsement is completed online through the board's Nurse Gateway. The original state verifies the license through Nursys, and the applicant pays a $100 RN fee plus a separate $75 fingerprint-based background check, performed only by the Mississippi Board. Applicants receive a multistate license if Mississippi is their primary state of residence and they meet the Uniform Licensure Requirements; otherwise they receive a single-state license. A temporary permit is available, and Mississippi does not require a separate state jurisprudence exam.

Education and exam for an RN license in Mississippi

Mississippi requires graduation from a nursing program that substantially meets the same standards as its own programs, with no distinction between associate, bachelor's, or diploma degrees. Candidates must pass the NCLEX-RN, registered through Pearson VUE for $200, and may retest after 45 days; no separate state jurisprudence exam is required. Foreign-educated nurses must submit a CGFNS Credentials Evaluation Service Professional Report, prove English proficiency if coursework was not taught in English, and may attempt the NCLEX-RN up to six times within two years of graduation.

How to become an RN →

What do RNs earn in Mississippi?

Typical pay a year
$77,090
$37.06 an hour · 21% below the US figure
Entry level
$60,610
Top 10%
$100,350

BLS OES May 2025 · 29,060 RNs employed in Mississippi · RN salary in Mississippi by city →

Nearby states

StateCompactRenewalCE per cycleInitial feeLookup
MississippiYesEvery 2 years—$100Verify
AlabamaYesEvery 2 years24 hours$125Verify
ArkansasYesEvery 2 years15 hours$100Verify
LouisianaYesEvery 2 years30 hours$100Verify
TennesseeYesEvery 2 years—$150Verify

Official boards of nursing · read 2026-09-02

Sources

Read 2026-09-02. Rules and fees change; confirm with the board before acting.

Explore next

← Back to the national RN license guide