Wyoming LPN License: Lookup, Renewal, CE, and Fees
Wyoming is a Nurse Licensure Compact state. LPNs renew every 2 years, and pass the NCLEX-PN.
Look up a Wyoming LPN license
Wyoming State Board of Nursing (WSBN) sends license verification to Nursys, the national database run by NCSBN. Quick Confirm is free and shows license status, expiry date, and any public discipline.
Wyoming State Board of Nursing (WSBN) · read 2026-09-03 · a dash means the board publishes no figure
Renewal and continuing education in Wyoming
Wyoming LPN licenses renew every two years, in even-numbered years, with the renewal window opening October 1 and closing December 31. Continuing education is optional in Wyoming and tracked through CE Broker rather than required as a fixed number of hours or specific topics. The board does not state what happens to a license that lapses.
Renewing a Wyoming LPN license costs $90, compared with $130 for the initial license. The NCLEX-PN exam fee and the fingerprint-based background check required for licensure applications are separate costs and are not part of the renewal fee. The board does not state a fee for late or lapsed renewal.
How much does a Wyoming LPN license cost?
Board fees exclude exam registration and fingerprinting · Wyoming board fee schedule ↗ · read 2026-09-03
Moving to Wyoming: endorsement and temporary permits
Wyoming is a member of the Nurse Licensure Compact, so an LPN who holds a multistate license from another compact state can practice in Wyoming without applying for a separate Wyoming license. An LPN moving from a non-compact state, or one who wants a Wyoming-issued license, applies through endorsement instead. Wyoming license verification runs through Nursys, the same lookup system used across compact states.
Endorsement applicants pay a $120 fee and undergo a two-card DCI/FBI fingerprint background check, which costs $60 and typically takes 15 to 30 days. Verification of the LPN's license history comes through Nursys, or through the board's own verification form if the prior state does not participate in Nursys. Wyoming offers a temporary permit, and the board's licensing page does not name a separate state jurisprudence exam for endorsement applicants.
Education and exam for an LPN license in Wyoming
Wyoming requires LPN candidates to graduate from an approved practical nursing program before applying for licensure; the board's licensing page does not state a required program length in months. Candidates must then pass the NCLEX-PN exam, and the board does not name a separate state jurisprudence or law exam. Military-trained applicants, such as medics or corpsmen, may also apply to sit for the LPN NCLEX.
What do LPNs earn in Wyoming?
BLS OES May 2025 · 480 LPNs employed in Wyoming · LPN salary in Wyoming by city →
Nearby states
| State | Compact | Renewal | CE per cycle | Initial fee | Lookup |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Wyoming | Yes | Every 2 years | — | $130 | Verify |
| Colorado | Yes | Every 2 years | None | — | Verify |
| Idaho | Yes | Every 2 years | — | $102 | Verify |
| Montana | Yes | Every 2 years | None | $100 | Verify |
| Nebraska | Yes | Every 2 years | 20 hours | $123 | Verify |
| South Dakota | Yes | Every 2 years | None | $100 | Verify |
| Utah | Yes | Every 2 years | 30 hours | — | Verify |
Official boards of nursing · read 2026-09-03
Sources
- Wyoming State Board of Nursing (WSBN) ↗licensure, renewal, CE, and fee ruleshigh confidence
- wsbn.wyo.gov/licensing
- wsbn.wyo.gov/renewal
- wsbn.wyo.gov/nurse-compact
- drive.google.com/file/d/1hddFhR9GIiPt3YXIicgrmE-QfA1ynWr_/view
- ncsbn.org/public-files/NLC_Map.pdf
- wybn.boardsofnursing.org/licenselookup
- Nursys ↗ national license verification
- BLS OES May 2025 Wyoming LPN wages and employment
Read 2026-09-03. Rules and fees change; confirm with the board before acting.