Utah LPN License: Lookup, Renewal, CE, and Fees
Utah is a Nurse Licensure Compact state. LPNs renew every 2 years, complete 30 hours of continuing education per cycle, and pass the NCLEX-PN.
Look up a Utah LPN license
The board's search shows license status, expiry date, and any public discipline. Nursys Quick Confirm is a free national check you can use as a second source.
Utah Division of Professional Licensing (DOPL), Board of Nursing (Utah Department of Commerce) · read 2026-09-03 · a dash means the board publishes no figure
Renewal and continuing education in Utah
Utah LPN licenses renew on a two-year cycle. Per the state's renewal page, licenses expire January 31 of even-numbered years, and the Division of Professional Licensing mails a renewal notice at least 60 days beforehand. Renewal requires 30 hours of continuing education, including at least one DOPL-listed online suicide prevention training worth 0.5 credit hours. A nurse who has not practiced for five to eight years must pass the NCLEX-PN within 60 days or complete a re-entry program; after eight years, both are required.
The board does not state exact dollar figures for the LPN renewal fee or the initial licensure fee, so nurses should check DOPL's current fee schedule directly for pricing. Fingerprint-based criminal background checks are required of both LPN and RN applicants, and the NCLEX-PN examination carries its own fee; both are billed separately from the license fee, and the board does not state either fee amount.
Required CE topics
- 1Suicide preventionat least one DOPL-listed online suicide prevention training (0.5 credit each) per renewal - per the DOPL RN/LPN renewal page as recorded in the RN reference; the page could not be re-read this session (Cloudflare challenge), so verify on the DOPL renewal page before publishing
Utah Division of Professional Licensing (DOPL), Board of Nursing (Utah Department of Commerce) continuing education rules · read 2026-09-03
How much does a Utah LPN license cost?
Board fees exclude exam registration and fingerprinting · Utah board fee schedule ↗ · read 2026-09-03
Moving to Utah: endorsement and temporary permits
Utah belongs to the Nurse Licensure Compact. This means an LPN who holds a multistate license from another compact state can generally work in Utah without applying for a separate Utah license, as long as Utah is not that nurse's new state of residence. Once a compact nurse establishes residency in Utah, state rules require an application for a Utah license within 90 days of that move.
To apply by endorsement, an LPN with a current license from another state, territory, or foreign jurisdiction must show that license meets Utah's endorsement requirements, or complete the same steps required of a first-time applicant. All applicants must submit fingerprints for a criminal background check. Nurses trained outside an approved program, including those educated abroad, go through CGFNS certification verification. Utah's rules do not mention a temporary work permit, a separate state law exam, an English proficiency test, or specific endorsement fee amounts.
Education and exam for an LPN license in Utah
Utah requires LPN applicants to complete an approved practical nursing education program, or one found equivalent. Nursing students who took but did not pass the NCLEX-RN after completing an approved RN program, or who are currently enrolled in an RN program with coursework certified equivalent to an accredited practical nursing program, may also qualify. All applicants must pass the NCLEX-PN examination within five years of graduation. The board does not state a typical program length in months, and no separate state law exam is required.
What do LPNs earn in Utah?
BLS OES May 2025 · 1,680 LPNs employed in Utah · LPN salary in Utah by city →
Nearby states
| State | Compact | Renewal | CE per cycle | Initial fee | Lookup |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Utah | Yes | Every 2 years | 30 hours | — | Verify |
| Arizona | Yes | Every 4 years | None | $300 | Verify |
| Colorado | Yes | Every 2 years | None | — | Verify |
| Idaho | Yes | Every 2 years | — | $102 | Verify |
| Nevada | No | Every 2 years | 30 hours | $90 | Verify |
| Wyoming | Yes | Every 2 years | — | $130 | Verify |
Official boards of nursing · read 2026-09-03
Sources
- Utah Division of Professional Licensing (DOPL), Board of Nursing (Utah Department of Commerce) ↗licensure, renewal, CE, and fee rulesmedium confidence
- utah.gov/pmn/files/1131719.pdf
- secure.utah.gov/llv/search/index.html
- commerce.utah.gov/dopl/nursing/apply-for-a-license/registered-nurse-or…
- commerce.utah.gov/dopl/nursing/renew-a-license/registered-nurse-or-lic…
- commerce.utah.gov/wp-content/uploads/2022/11/fee-schedule.pdf
- ncsbn.org/public-files/NLC_Map.pdf
- Nursys ↗ national license verification
- BLS OES May 2025 Utah LPN wages and employment
Read 2026-09-03. Rules and fees change; confirm with the board before acting.