Skip to content

Nevada LPN License: Lookup, Renewal, CE, and Fees

Nevada is not in the Nurse Licensure Compact, so its licenses are single-state. LPNs renew every 2 years, complete 30 hours of continuing education per cycle, and pass the NCLEX-PN.

Nevada State Board of Nursing

Look up a Nevada LPN license

The board's search shows license status, expiry date, and any public discipline. Nursys Quick Confirm is a free national check you can use as a second source.

Compact
No
Renewal
Every 2 years
CE per cycle
30 hours
3 required topics
Exam
NCLEX-PN
no state law exam
Initial fee
$90
Renewal fee
$100

Nevada State Board of Nursing · read 2026-09-03 · a dash means the board publishes no figure

Renewal and continuing education in Nevada

Nevada LPNs renew their license every 2 years; the board does not state which month renewals are due. Renewal requires 30 hours of continuing education, including a one-time 4-hour bioterrorism course, 4 hours of cultural competency and diversity, equity and inclusion training at every renewal, and, for nurses who provide or supervise emergency or primary care, 2 hours of HIV and stigma training. The board does not state what happens to a lapsed license.

The renewal fee is $100, compared with an initial license fee of $90. These amounts cover the license itself; the NCLEX-PN exam and the fingerprint-based background check required of applicants are separate requirements, handled and paid for outside the renewal or initial license fee, and the board does not list their individual costs.

Required CE topics

  1. 1bioterrorism 4 hr (one-time)
  2. 2cultural competency / diversity, equity and inclusion 4 hr every renewal (NRS 632.343; raised from 2 hr effective January 1, 2024; counts within the 30 hr)
  3. 3HIV/stigma training 2 hr (only for nurses providing or supervising emergency or primary care; within 2 years of beginning that care, SB 439)

Nevada State Board of Nursing continuing education rules · read 2026-09-03

How much does a Nevada LPN license cost?

Initial license application
$90
Renewal, every 2 years
$100
NCLEX-PN registration
$200
paid to Pearson VUE, not the board

Board fees exclude exam registration and fingerprinting · Nevada board fee schedule ↗ · read 2026-09-03

Moving to Nevada: endorsement and temporary permits

Nevada is not a member of the Nurse Licensure Compact, so an LPN license from another state does not carry multistate privileges here. A nurse relocating to Nevada must obtain a Nevada-issued license through endorsement rather than practicing on a home-state multistate license, since Nevada does not recognize compact privileges for LPNs coming from other states.

To transfer a license, an LPN applies through the Nevada Nurse Portal for $90, requests an official Nursys verification for endorsement from the state where they were originally licensed by examination, and submits fingerprints for a background check. The board does not mention a separate state jurisprudence exam. While FBI and Department of Public Safety fingerprint results are pending, which can take up to four months, the board may issue a one-time temporary license valid for six months.

Education and exam for an LPN license in Nevada

Nevada requires LPN applicants to graduate from a nursing program accredited by a nationally recognized accreditor, such as the NLN Commission for Nursing Education Accreditation, the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education, or the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing, earning a degree or diploma in nursing, and to submit an official transcript. The board does not state a required program length. Candidates must then pass the NCLEX-PN exam; the board does not mention a separate state jurisprudence exam.

How to become an LPN →

What do LPNs earn in Nevada?

Typical pay a year
$76,160
$36.62 an hour · 18% above the US figure
Entry level
$61,750
Top 10%
$89,420

BLS OES May 2025 · 3,350 LPNs employed in Nevada · LPN salary in Nevada by city →

Nearby states

StateCompactRenewalCE per cycleInitial feeLookup
NevadaNoEvery 2 years30 hours$90Verify
ArizonaYesEvery 4 yearsNone$300Verify
CaliforniaNoEvery 2 years30 hours$300Verify
IdahoYesEvery 2 years—$102Verify
OregonNoEvery 2 yearsNone$195Verify
UtahYesEvery 2 years30 hours—Verify

Official boards of nursing · read 2026-09-03

Sources

Explore next

← Back to the national LPN license guide