Skip to content

Oregon LPN License: Lookup, Renewal, CE, and Fees

Oregon is not in the Nurse Licensure Compact, so its licenses are single-state. LPNs renew every 2 years with no continuing education hours required, and pass the NCLEX-PN.

Oregon State Board of Nursing

Look up a Oregon LPN license

The board's search shows license status, expiry date, and any public discipline. Nursys Quick Confirm is a free national check you can use as a second source.

Compact
No
Renewal
Every 2 years
CE per cycle
None
2 required topics
Exam
NCLEX-PN
no state law exam
Initial fee
$195
Renewal fee
$180

Oregon State Board of Nursing · read 2026-09-03 · a dash means the board publishes no figure

Renewal and continuing education in Oregon

Oregon LPN licenses run for two years from the date of issue, and renewal is due by 11:59 p.m. on the expiration date, with no birth-month or even/odd-year assignment. The board does not set a general continuing education hour total, but renewal does require a 1-hour Oregon Pain Management Commission module every 36 months, 2 hours of cultural competency training every 48 months, and completion of the Oregon Health Authority workforce survey. The board does not state what happens if a license lapses.

Renewal costs $180, compared with the $195 initial license fee. These renewal figures cover the license itself only; the NCLEX-PN exam fee and the fingerprint-based criminal background check required of exam and endorsement applicants are billed separately and are not part of the renewal cost.

Required CE topics

  1. 1pain management 1 hr (Oregon Pain Management Commission module) every 36 months
  2. 2cultural competency 2 hr every 48 months

Oregon State Board of Nursing continuing education rules · read 2026-09-03

How much does a Oregon LPN license cost?

Initial license application
$195
Renewal, every 2 years
$180
NCLEX-PN registration
$200
paid to Pearson VUE, not the board

Board fees exclude exam registration and fingerprinting · Oregon board fee schedule ↗ · read 2026-09-03

Moving to Oregon: endorsement and temporary permits

Oregon is not a member of the Nurse Licensure Compact, so an LPN moving from another state does not receive multistate recognition; an LPN license issued elsewhere does not automatically let a nurse practice in Oregon. Instead, an LPN who holds or has held an active LPN license in another U.S. state or jurisdiction must apply for licensure by endorsement through the Oregon State Board of Nursing.

Endorsement applicants apply online through the OSBN portal, pay a $230 fee plus a $9 surcharge, and complete a national fingerprint-based background check through Fieldprint. The board verifies the applicant's license history through Nursys or direct state verification, and applicants must show the 1-hour Oregon pain-management module completed within the last 36 months along with required continuing education. Oregon does not require a separate state jurisprudence or law exam for endorsement, and the board does not offer a temporary permit while an application is pending.

Education and exam for an LPN license in Oregon

To become licensed in Oregon, an applicant must graduate from an approved practical nursing education program that includes a clinical component, confirmed by an affidavit from the program administrator or an official transcript showing the diploma or degree awarded and the graduation date. The board does not state a required program length in months. Applicants must then pass the NCLEX-PN exam; Oregon does not require a separate jurisprudence or nursing law exam. Internationally educated applicants must submit a credential evaluation of their education.

How to become an LPN →

What do LPNs earn in Oregon?

Typical pay a year
$80,470
$38.69 an hour · 25% above the US figure
Entry level
$64,000
Top 10%
$98,990

BLS OES May 2025 · 4,260 LPNs employed in Oregon · LPN salary in Oregon by city →

Nearby states

StateCompactRenewalCE per cycleInitial feeLookup
OregonNoEvery 2 yearsNone$195Verify
CaliforniaNoEvery 2 years30 hours$300Verify
IdahoYesEvery 2 years—$102Verify
NevadaNoEvery 2 years30 hours$90Verify
WashingtonYesEvery year8 hours$93Verify

Official boards of nursing · read 2026-09-03

Sources

Explore next

← Back to the national LPN license guide