Skip to content

Washington LPN License: Lookup, Renewal, CE, and Fees

Washington is a Nurse Licensure Compact state. LPNs renew every year, complete 8 hours of continuing education per cycle, and pass the NCLEX-PN.

Washington State Board of Nursing (WABON; formerly Nursing Care Quality Assurance Commission, under the Department of Health)

Look up a Washington LPN license

The board's search shows license status, expiry date, and any public discipline. Nursys Quick Confirm is a free national check you can use as a second source.

Compact
Yes
since 2024-01-31
Renewal
Every year
CE per cycle
8 hours
2 required topics
Exam
NCLEX-PN
no state law exam
Initial fee
$93
Renewal fee
$93

Washington State Board of Nursing (WABON; formerly Nursing Care Quality Assurance Commission, under the Department of Health) · read 2026-09-03 · a dash means the board publishes no figure

Renewal and continuing education in Washington

Washington LPN licenses renew every year, expiring on the license holder's birthday, and online renewal opens 85 to 90 days before that date. Renewal requires 8 hours of continuing education, including 2 hours on health equity every renewal period and, one time only, 6 hours on suicide assessment, treatment, and management; LPNs had until their 2026 renewal to complete the health equity hours for the first time. The board does not state what happens if a license lapses.

Renewing an LPN license in Washington costs $93, the same amount as the $93 fee for the initial license application. These renewal and application fees are paid to the board and do not cover the cost of the NCLEX-PN exam or the fingerprint-based background check, which applicants arrange and pay for separately through Pearson VUE and the state and federal background check process.

Required CE topics

  1. 1health equity 2 hrs per renewal period (WAC 246-840-222; currently licensed LPNs had until their 2026 renewal to complete the first cycle)
  2. 2suicide assessment, treatment and management 6 hrs one-time

Washington State Board of Nursing (WABON; formerly Nursing Care Quality Assurance Commission, under the Department of Health) continuing education rules · read 2026-09-03

How much does a Washington LPN license cost?

Initial license application
$93
Renewal, a year
$93
NCLEX-PN registration
$200
paid to Pearson VUE, not the board

Board fees exclude exam registration and fingerprinting · Washington board fee schedule ↗ · read 2026-09-03

Moving to Washington: endorsement and temporary permits

Washington joined the Nurse Licensure Compact on January 31, 2024, which means an LPN who holds a multistate license issued by another compact member state may practice in Washington under that multistate privilege without applying for a separate Washington license. An LPN whose home-state license is not a multistate compact license, or whose home state does not belong to the compact, must apply for a Washington license by endorsement instead.

To apply by endorsement, an LPN with an active license from another state pays a $93 or $158 fee, submits license verification, and completes a fingerprint-based state and FBI background check starting within 30 days of applying. Washington offers a temporary permit during processing, and endorsement applicants take no separate state jurisprudence exam. Graduates of non-traditional programs must document 1,000 hours of active practice elsewhere, and those educated outside the United States complete a separate process that includes an English proficiency exam unless exempt.

Education and exam for an LPN license in Washington

Washington requires completion of an approved practical nursing education program before licensure. Graduates of Washington programs are certified electronically by their program director, while graduates of out-of-state programs submit official transcripts showing their degree and graduation date. All applicants must pass the NCLEX-PN exam, administered through Pearson VUE at test sites in Renton, Seattle, Yakima, and Spokane. An applicant who fails the exam four times must complete a board-approved NCLEX preparation course before testing again. The board does not state a required program length.

How to become an LPN →

What do LPNs earn in Washington?

Typical pay a year
$83,150
$39.98 an hour · 29% above the US figure
Entry level
$64,230
Top 10%
$100,950

BLS OES May 2025 · 6,780 LPNs employed in Washington · LPN salary in Washington by city →

Nearby states

StateCompactRenewalCE per cycleInitial feeLookup
WashingtonYesEvery year8 hours$93Verify
IdahoYesEvery 2 years—$102Verify
OregonNoEvery 2 yearsNone$195Verify

Official boards of nursing · read 2026-09-03

Sources

Explore next

← Back to the national LPN license guide