Skip to content

South Dakota LPN License: Lookup, Renewal, CE, and Fees

South Dakota is a Nurse Licensure Compact state. LPNs renew every 2 years with no continuing education hours required, and pass the NCLEX-PN.

South Dakota Board of Nursing

Look up a South Dakota LPN license

The board's search shows license status, expiry date, and any public discipline. Nursys Quick Confirm is a free national check you can use as a second source.

Compact
Yes
Renewal
Every 2 years
CE per cycle
None
Exam
NCLEX-PN
no state law exam
Initial fee
$100
Renewal fee
$115

South Dakota Board of Nursing · read 2026-09-03 · a dash means the board publishes no figure

Renewal and continuing education in South Dakota

A South Dakota LPN license must be renewed every two years, with the license expiring on the licensee's birth date. The first renewal falls due on the birth date in the second calendar year after the license is issued, then every two years after that on the same birth date; this rule took effect August 3, 2026. Renewal does not require any continuing education hours, since the board sets none. The board does not state what happens to a license that lapses without being renewed.

Renewing a South Dakota LPN license costs $115, compared with $100 for the initial license. These fees are separate from the cost of taking the NCLEX-PN exam and from the fingerprint-based criminal background check, which the board requires when applying by exam, by endorsement, or for a temporary permit, not for routine renewal.

How much does a South Dakota LPN license cost?

Initial license application
$100
Renewal, every 2 years
$115
NCLEX-PN registration
$200
paid to Pearson VUE, not the board

Board fees exclude exam registration and fingerprinting · South Dakota board fee schedule ↗ · read 2026-09-03

Moving to South Dakota: endorsement and temporary permits

South Dakota belongs to the Nurse Licensure Compact, so an LPN who holds a multistate license from another compact state can practice in South Dakota under that home-state license without applying separately. An LPN whose license is not a multistate compact license, or whose home state is outside the compact, must instead apply for a South Dakota license by endorsement.

Endorsement applications go through the SDBON Nurse Portal and cost $100. The board verifies the applicant's original license and requires a fingerprint-based state and federal criminal background check. South Dakota does not state a separate jurisprudence or law exam requirement, and the board does not mention an English proficiency test. Applicants may apply for a temporary permit while the endorsement application is processed.

Education and exam for an LPN license in South Dakota

To become licensed as an LPN in South Dakota, an applicant must graduate from a practical nursing program approved by a state board of nursing; out-of-state or foreign nursing education must be found equivalent to South Dakota's practical nursing education. Graduates then take the NCLEX-PN, the national licensing exam. South Dakota does not require a separate state jurisprudence or law exam. The board does not state a typical program length in months.

How to become an LPN →

What do LPNs earn in South Dakota?

Typical pay a year
$52,750
$25.36 an hour · 18% below the US figure
Entry level
$40,770
Top 10%
$67,700

BLS OES May 2025 · 2,050 LPNs employed in South Dakota · LPN salary in South Dakota by city →

Nearby states

StateCompactRenewalCE per cycleInitial feeLookup
South DakotaYesEvery 2 yearsNone$100Verify
IowaYesEvery 3 years36 hours$143Verify
MinnesotaNoEvery 2 years12 hours$105Verify
MontanaYesEvery 2 yearsNone$100Verify
NebraskaYesEvery 2 years20 hours$123Verify
North DakotaYesEvery 2 years12 hours$125Verify
WyomingYesEvery 2 years—$130Verify

Official boards of nursing · read 2026-09-03

Sources

Read 2026-09-03. Rules and fees change; confirm with the board before acting.

Explore next

← Back to the national LPN license guide