North Dakota LPN License: Lookup, Renewal, CE, and Fees
North Dakota is a Nurse Licensure Compact state. LPNs renew every 2 years, complete 12 hours of continuing education per cycle, and pass the NCLEX-PN.
Look up a North Dakota LPN license
The board's search shows license status, expiry date, and any public discipline. Nursys Quick Confirm is a free national check you can use as a second source.
North Dakota Board of Nursing · read 2026-09-03 · a dash means the board publishes no figure
Renewal and continuing education in North Dakota
North Dakota LPN licenses run on a two-year cycle, and the board requires renewal before December 31 of the second year of that cycle; initial licenses issued by exam or endorsement expire December 31 of the following licensure year. To renew, an LPN must complete 12 hours of continuing education; the board's materials do not name specific mandatory topics. The profile does not state what happens to a license that lapses without renewal.
Renewing a North Dakota LPN license costs $130, compared with $125 for the initial license by exam. These fees cover licensure processing only. Passing the NCLEX-PN and completing any fingerprint-based criminal history check are separate requirements with their own separate costs and timelines, handled outside the renewal process itself.
How much does a North Dakota LPN license cost?
Board fees exclude exam registration and fingerprinting · North Dakota board fee schedule ↗ · read 2026-09-03
Moving to North Dakota: endorsement and temporary permits
North Dakota belongs to the Nurse Licensure Compact, so an LPN who holds a multistate license from another compact state can practice in North Dakota under that multistate privilege without applying for a new license. An LPN whose license is not multistate, or who is licensed in a non-compact state, must instead apply for licensure by endorsement before practicing in North Dakota.
Endorsement applicants apply online and submit an official transcript, license verification through Nursys, and a fingerprint-based background check through the state's Bureau of Criminal Investigation and the FBI. The application fee is $150 and is not refundable. While the background check is pending, the board may issue a 90-day, nonrenewable temporary permit so the nurse can begin working. The board does not name a separate state law exam for endorsement applicants.
Education and exam for an LPN license in North Dakota
To become licensed as an LPN in North Dakota, a candidate must complete a board-approved North Dakota practical nurse education program, or an out-of-state program approved by another state's board of nursing that provides equivalent supervised clinical education. The board does not state a typical program length. After finishing an approved program, candidates register with Pearson VUE and pass the NCLEX-PN, the National Council Licensure Examination for Practical Nurses. North Dakota does not require a separate state jurisprudence exam.
What do LPNs earn in North Dakota?
BLS OES May 2025 · 1,920 LPNs employed in North Dakota · LPN salary in North Dakota by city →
Nearby states
Sources
- North Dakota Board of Nursing ↗licensure, renewal, CE, and fee ruleshigh confidence
- ndbon.org/licensing/exam-us
- ndbon.org/licensing/renewal/nursing-renewal
- ndbon.org/licensing/renewal/ce
- ndbon.org/licensing/endorsement-us
- ndlegis.gov/information/acdata/pdf/54-02-01.pdf
- ndlegis.gov/information/acdata/pdf/54-02-05.pdf
- Nursys ↗ national license verification
- BLS OES May 2025 North Dakota LPN wages and employment
Read 2026-09-03. Rules and fees change; confirm with the board before acting.