Skip to content

Tennessee LPN License: Lookup, Renewal, CE, and Fees

Tennessee is a Nurse Licensure Compact state. LPNs renew every 2 years, and pass the NCLEX-PN.

Tennessee Board of Nursing (Tennessee Department of Health, Division of Health Related Boards)

Look up a Tennessee LPN license

The board's search shows license status, expiry date, and any public discipline. Nursys Quick Confirm is a free national check you can use as a second source.

Compact
Yes
Renewal
Every 2 years
CE per cycle
—
Exam
NCLEX-PN
no state law exam
Initial fee
$150
Renewal fee
$140

Tennessee Board of Nursing (Tennessee Department of Health, Division of Health Related Boards) · read 2026-09-03 · a dash means the board publishes no figure

Renewal and continuing education in Tennessee

Tennessee LPN licenses renew every 2 years, with the license due for renewal by the last day of the month in which the licensee's birth date falls, under the same biennial birth-date system used for RN licenses. Renewal is completed online through the lars.tn.gov portal. The profile does not state a specific continuing education hour requirement or what happens to a license that lapses without renewal.

Renewing an LPN license in Tennessee costs $140, compared with the $150 fee for the initial license application. Neither figure includes the NCLEX-PN exam fee or the required biometric fingerprint criminal background check, which the board treats as separate steps outside the renewal and application fees.

How much does a Tennessee LPN license cost?

Initial license application
$150
Renewal, every 2 years
$140
NCLEX-PN registration
$200
paid to Pearson VUE, not the board

Board fees exclude exam registration and fingerprinting · Tennessee board fee schedule ↗ · read 2026-09-03

Moving to Tennessee: endorsement and temporary permits

Tennessee participates in the Nurse Licensure Compact, so an LPN who holds a multistate license issued by another compact state can practice in Tennessee without going through endorsement. An LPN whose current license is not a multistate compact license, or who is moving from a non-compact state, must apply for licensure by endorsement before practicing in Tennessee.

LPNs licensed in another state who are not eligible for multistate practice apply by endorsement through the lars.tn.gov portal, for a fee of $150. The process includes verification of the original license through Nursys, a biometric fingerprint criminal background check, and documentation of citizenship or qualified-alien status. Tennessee does not require a separate state law or jurisprudence exam and does not offer a temporary permit while an application is pending. Foreign-educated applicants must also complete English language proficiency testing.

Education and exam for an LPN license in Tennessee

To become an LPN in Tennessee, a candidate must graduate from a board-approved practical nursing program, with an official transcript sent directly from the school to the board. The board publishes a list of approved practical nursing schools. After completing the program, candidates must take and pass the NCLEX-PN exam. The board does not state a specific program length in months, and no separate state jurisprudence or law exam was found.

How to become an LPN →

What do LPNs earn in Tennessee?

Typical pay a year
$58,870
$28.31 an hour · 9% below the US figure
Entry level
$41,110
Top 10%
$67,540

BLS OES May 2025 · 20,830 LPNs employed in Tennessee · LPN salary in Tennessee by city →

Nearby states

StateCompactRenewalCE per cycleInitial feeLookup
TennesseeYesEvery 2 years—$150Verify
AlabamaYesEvery 2 years24 hours$125Verify
ArkansasYesEvery 2 years15 hours$100Verify
GeorgiaYesEvery 2 years20 hours$40Verify
KentuckyYesEvery year14 hours$125Verify
MississippiYesEvery 2 yearsNone$60Verify
MissouriYesEvery 2 yearsNone$0Verify
North CarolinaYesEvery 2 years—$75Verify
VirginiaYesEvery 2 years30 hours$170Verify

Official boards of nursing · read 2026-09-03

Sources

Explore next

← Back to the national LPN license guide