Skip to content

Georgia LPN License: Lookup, Renewal, CE, and Fees

Georgia is a Nurse Licensure Compact state. LPNs renew every 2 years, complete 20 hours of continuing education per cycle, and pass the NCLEX-PN.

Georgia Board of Nursing (Georgia Secretary of State, Professional Licensing Boards Division)

Look up a Georgia LPN license

The lookup runs on Georgia's state licensing portal, which covers LPNs alongside other licensed professions. Nursys Quick Confirm is a free national check you can use as a second source.

Compact
Yes
Renewal
Every 2 years
CE per cycle
20 hours
Exam
NCLEX-PN
no state law exam
Initial fee
$40
Renewal fee
$65

Georgia Board of Nursing (Georgia Secretary of State, Professional Licensing Boards Division) · read 2026-09-03 · a dash means the board publishes no figure

Renewal and continuing education in Georgia

Georgia requires LPNs to renew their license every two years. The board's guidance states that the LPN renewal period runs from January 1 through March 31, though it does not specify whether an individual license falls in an odd or even year; nurses should check the expiration date printed on their license. Renewal requires completion of 20 hours of continuing education, or completion of an accredited RN program of study. The board does not state what happens to a lapsed license.

The renewal fee is $65, compared with a $40 initial licensing fee. These renewal figures do not include the cost of taking the NCLEX-PN, which is a separate step for new applicants, or the fingerprint-based criminal background check processed through GAPS/Idemia, which applies to every application. The board does not state additional fees tied specifically to renewal beyond the $65 charge.

How much does a Georgia LPN license cost?

Initial license application
$40
Renewal, every 2 years
$65
NCLEX-PN registration
$200
paid to Pearson VUE, not the board

Board fees exclude exam registration and fingerprinting · Georgia board fee schedule ↗ · read 2026-09-03

Moving to Georgia: endorsement and temporary permits

Georgia participates in the Nurse Licensure Compact, so an LPN who holds a multistate license issued by another compact state can generally practice in Georgia without applying for a new license, as long as Georgia is not the nurse's primary state of residence. An LPN who wants a Georgia-issued multistate license must establish primary residence in the state and meet the Uniform Licensure Requirements; otherwise, a nurse moving from a non-compact state must apply by endorsement.

Endorsement applicants apply online through the GOALS system and submit official transcripts along with Nursys verification of both their original and current licenses. A fingerprint-based background check through GAPS/Idemia is required for every application, and the fee for endorsement is $75. The board does not require a separate jurisprudence exam or English-language test for new LPN applicants, and a temporary permit is available while an application is pending.

Education and exam for an LPN license in Georgia

To become licensed in Georgia, an LPN candidate must graduate from a practical nursing education program approved by the Georgia Board of Nursing; the board maintains a published list of approved programs, though it does not state a required program length. Candidates must then pass the NCLEX-PN, administered through Pearson VUE. Georgia does not require a jurisprudence exam for new LPN licensees. International graduates need a TruMerit/CGFNS credential evaluation and, if required, a TOEFL score.

How to become an LPN →

What do LPNs earn in Georgia?

Typical pay a year
$62,030
$29.82 an hour · 4% below the US figure
Entry level
$46,010
Top 10%
$76,690

BLS OES May 2025 · 21,060 LPNs employed in Georgia · LPN salary in Georgia by city →

Nearby states

StateCompactRenewalCE per cycleInitial feeLookup
GeorgiaYesEvery 2 years20 hours$40Verify
AlabamaYesEvery 2 years24 hours$125Verify
FloridaYesEvery 2 years24 hours$110Verify
North CarolinaYesEvery 2 years—$75Verify
South CarolinaYesEvery 2 years30 hours$70Verify
TennesseeYesEvery 2 years—$150Verify

Official boards of nursing · read 2026-09-03

Sources

Explore next

← Back to the national LPN license guide