North Carolina LPN License: Lookup, Renewal, CE, and Fees
North Carolina is a Nurse Licensure Compact state. LPNs renew every 2 years, and pass the NCLEX-PN.
Look up a North Carolina LPN license
The board's search shows license status, expiry date, and any public discipline. Nursys Quick Confirm is a free national check you can use as a second source.
North Carolina Board of Nursing · read 2026-09-03 · a dash means the board publishes no figure
Renewal and continuing education in North Carolina
North Carolina requires LPNs to renew every 2 years, by the last day of their birth month; the license expires at midnight on the last day of that month. A first or shorter license can run 13 to 24 months so the expiration lines up with the birth month going forward. The board maintains a continuing competence program for LPNs, but the profile does not state the specific hour or topic requirements, and it does not say what happens to a license that lapses.
Renewal costs $100, compared with $75 for an initial license. The North Carolina Board of Nursing does not fold NCLEX-PN registration or the fingerprint-based criminal background check into that renewal fee; NCLEX-PN registration through Pearson VUE is $200, and the fingerprint-based SBI/FBI check required for licensure is $38, both paid separately from renewal.
How much does a North Carolina LPN license cost?
Board fees exclude exam registration and fingerprinting · North Carolina board fee schedule ↗ · read 2026-09-03
Moving to North Carolina: endorsement and temporary permits
North Carolina participates in the Nurse Licensure Compact, so an LPN who already holds a multistate license from another compact state can practice in North Carolina under that license without applying separately. An LPN from a non-compact state, or one who wants a North Carolina-issued license, must apply through endorsement instead.
Endorsement runs through the Nurse Portal for a non-refundable $150 fee. The board verifies the applicant's original and current-state licenses through Nursys and requires a fingerprint-based SBI/FBI background check for $38. Applicants must show NCLEX-PN passage and an active license within the past 5 years, or complete a board-approved LPN refresher course; North Carolina requires no separate state jurisprudence exam. A non-renewable temporary license, valid up to 6 months, is available once per lifetime, within the first 6 months of applying, once fingerprints are received.
Education and exam for an LPN license in North Carolina
North Carolina requires LPN candidates to graduate from a board-approved licensed practical nurse education program; North Carolina programs verify completion electronically, while out-of-state graduates send a final official transcript. The board's exam page does not state program length. Candidates pass the NCLEX-PN, administered through Pearson VUE for a $200 registration fee paid separately. North Carolina requires no separate state jurisprudence exam and does not limit NCLEX-PN attempts; RN candidates who fail their first NCLEX-RN attempt may test for the NCLEX-PN instead, using program code US19909900.
What do LPNs earn in North Carolina?
BLS OES May 2025 · 18,010 LPNs employed in North Carolina · LPN salary in North Carolina by city →
Nearby states
| State | Compact | Renewal | CE per cycle | Initial fee | Lookup |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| North Carolina | Yes | Every 2 years | — | $75 | Verify |
| Georgia | Yes | Every 2 years | 20 hours | $40 | Verify |
| South Carolina | Yes | Every 2 years | 30 hours | $70 | Verify |
| Tennessee | Yes | Every 2 years | — | $150 | Verify |
| Virginia | Yes | Every 2 years | 30 hours | $170 | Verify |
Official boards of nursing · read 2026-09-03
Sources
- North Carolina Board of Nursing ↗licensure, renewal, CE, and fee ruleshigh confidence
- ncbon.com/fee-schedule
- ncbon.com/rnlpn-examination
- ncbon.com/rn-lpn-endorsement
- ncbon.com/rnlpn-renewal
- ncbon.com/rn-lpn-continuing-competence
- portal.ncbon.com/licenseverification/search.aspx
- Nursys ↗ national license verification
- BLS OES May 2025 North Carolina LPN wages and employment
Read 2026-09-03. Rules and fees change; confirm with the board before acting.