South Carolina LPN License: Lookup, Renewal, CE, and Fees
South Carolina is a Nurse Licensure Compact state. LPNs renew every 2 years, complete 30 hours of continuing education per cycle, and pass the NCLEX-PN.
Look up a South Carolina LPN license
The board's search shows license status, expiry date, and any public discipline. Nursys Quick Confirm is a free national check you can use as a second source.
South Carolina Board of Nursing (SC Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation) · read 2026-09-03 · a dash means the board publishes no figure
Renewal and continuing education in South Carolina
South Carolina LPN licenses run on a two-year cycle and expire April 30 of even-numbered years; the current license period runs from May 1, 2024, through April 30, 2026. To renew, an LPN must complete 30 hours of continuing education; the board does not specify mandatory CE topics beyond that requirement. Renewing after April 30, 2026 moves the license into reinstatement, which carries its own requirements and fees.
Renewal costs $75, compared with the $70 fee for an initial LPN license. These renewal and continuing education requirements are separate from the NCLEX-PN examination fee and the state and federal fingerprint-based criminal background checks required for licensure; neither of those costs is included in the renewal fee itself.
How much does a South Carolina LPN license cost?
Board fees exclude exam registration and fingerprinting · South Carolina board fee schedule ↗ · read 2026-09-03
Moving to South Carolina: endorsement and temporary permits
South Carolina participates in the Nurse Licensure Compact, so an LPN who already holds a multistate license from another compact state can practice in South Carolina without applying for a new license. An LPN with a single-state license, or one from a state outside the compact, must instead apply for licensure by endorsement.
Endorsement requires the RN/LPN endorsement application, verification of the applicant's license history through Nursys or other state records, proof of identity and lawful presence, evidence of equivalent nursing education, and evidence of continued competency within the preceding two years. Applicants also undergo SLED and FBI fingerprint-based background checks. The endorsement fee is $100, or $110 if the applicant requests a 60-day temporary license while the application is processed. The board does not require a separate state law exam or English proficiency test for endorsement applicants.
Education and exam for an LPN license in South Carolina
South Carolina requires LPN applicants to graduate from a board-approved school of nursing or nursing education program; the board does not state a required program length. Applicants must then pass the NCLEX-PN, the exam prescribed by the board for licensure, with no separate state jurisprudence or law exam required for initial licensure. Retakes are allowed no more often than every 45 days.
What do LPNs earn in South Carolina?
BLS OES May 2025 · 9,400 LPNs employed in South Carolina · LPN salary in South Carolina by city →
Nearby states
| State | Compact | Renewal | CE per cycle | Initial fee | Lookup |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| South Carolina | Yes | Every 2 years | 30 hours | $70 | Verify |
| Georgia | Yes | Every 2 years | 20 hours | $40 | Verify |
| North Carolina | Yes | Every 2 years | — | $75 | Verify |
Official boards of nursing · read 2026-09-03
Sources
- South Carolina Board of Nursing (SC Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation) ↗licensure, renewal, CE, and fee ruleshigh confidence
- llr.sc.gov/nurse/lpn.aspx
- llr.sc.gov/nurse/fees.aspx
- llr.sc.gov/nurse/renewals.aspx
- llr.sc.gov/nurse/ce.aspx
- llr.sc.gov/nurse/pdf/CompetencyCriteria.pdf
- llr.sc.gov/nurse/pdf/LPN%20Equivalency%20Fact%20Sheet.pdf
- Nursys ↗ national license verification
- BLS OES May 2025 South Carolina LPN wages and employment
Read 2026-09-03. Rules and fees change; confirm with the board before acting.