North Carolina Nursing License: Lookup, Renewal, CE, and Fees
North Carolina is a Nurse Licensure Compact state. RNs renew every 2 years, and pass the NCLEX-RN.
Look up a North Carolina nursing license
The board's search shows license status, expiry date, and any public discipline. Nursys Quick Confirm is a free national check you can use as a second source.
North Carolina Board of Nursing · read 2026-09-02 · a dash means the board publishes no figure
Renewal and continuing education in North Carolina
North Carolina RN licenses renew every two years, due by the last day of the licensee's birth month; a first license runs 13 to 24 months so it expires in that same month. Renewal is not tied to a fixed hour count. The board's continuing competence rule lists eight qualifying options, among them 15 contact hours plus 640 practice hours, 30 contact hours, national certification, or a board-approved refresher course, with no required topics. The board does not state what happens when a license lapses.
Renewing an RN license in North Carolina costs $100, compared with a $75 fee for the initial license. These renewal and initial fees are separate from the NCLEX exam registration fee of $200 paid to Pearson VUE and from the $38 fingerprint-based criminal background check, which are charged on top of licensing fees.
How much does a North Carolina RN license cost?
Board fees exclude exam registration and fingerprinting · North Carolina board fee schedule ↗ · read 2026-09-02
Moving to North Carolina: endorsement and temporary permits
North Carolina belongs to the Nurse Licensure Compact, so a registered nurse who holds a multistate license from another compact member state may practice in North Carolina without applying for a separate NC license, as long as North Carolina is not that nurse's primary state of residence. A nurse whose primary residence is North Carolina, or whose home-state license is not multistate, must apply for licensure by endorsement instead.
Endorsement applicants apply through the board's Nurse Portal for a non-refundable $150 fee, with Nursys verifying original and current licenses at $30 each. The board requires a fingerprint-based SBI/FBI background check, proof of passing the NCLEX or SBTPE, and either an active license within the past 5 years or a board-approved refresher course. There is no separate state jurisprudence exam. Once fingerprints are received, applicants may get a non-renewable temporary license valid up to 6 months, once per lifetime, within 6 months of applying.
Education and exam for an RN license in North Carolina
To become licensed as an RN in North Carolina, a candidate must graduate from a board-approved RN program; the board does not specify whether that means an associate degree, bachelor's degree, or diploma program. Candidates must then pass the NCLEX-RN, administered through Pearson VUE with a $200 registration fee. North Carolina has no separate state jurisprudence exam, and it does not limit how many times a candidate may attempt the NCLEX-RN.
What do RNs earn in North Carolina?
BLS OES May 2025 · 111,120 RNs employed in North Carolina · RN salary in North Carolina by city →
Nearby states
| State | Compact | Renewal | CE per cycle | Initial fee | Lookup |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| North Carolina | Yes | Every 2 years | — | $75 | Verify |
| Georgia | Yes | Every 2 years | 30 hours | $40 | Verify |
| South Carolina | Yes | Every 2 years | 30 hours | $90 | Verify |
| Tennessee | Yes | Every 2 years | — | $150 | Verify |
| Virginia | Yes | Every 2 years | 30 hours | $190 | Verify |
Official boards of nursing · read 2026-09-02
Sources
- North Carolina Board of Nursing ↗licensure, renewal, CE, and fee ruleshigh confidence
- ncbon.com/fee-schedule
- ncbon.com/rnlpn-renewal
- ncbon.com/rn-lpn-endorsement
- ncbon.com/rnlpn-examination
- ncbon.com/rn-lpn-continuing-competence
- ncbon.com/verify-nc-license
- Nursys ↗ national license verification
- BLS OES May 2025 North Carolina RN wages and employment
Read 2026-09-02. Rules and fees change; confirm with the board before acting.