Michigan LPN License: Lookup, Renewal, CE, and Fees
Michigan is not in the Nurse Licensure Compact, so its licenses are single-state. LPNs renew every 2 years, complete 25 hours of continuing education per cycle, and pass the NCLEX-PN.
Look up a Michigan LPN license
The lookup runs on Michigan's state licensing portal, which covers LPNs alongside other licensed professions. Nursys Quick Confirm is a free national check you can use as a second source.
Michigan Board of Nursing (Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, Bureau of Professional Licensing) · read 2026-09-03 · a dash means the board publishes no figure
Renewal and continuing education in Michigan
Michigan LPN licenses run on a two-year renewal cycle, with each license and renewal valid for two years from the date of issuance rather than the nurse's birth month; the board does not state a fixed renewal month. It sends a renewal notice about 90 business days before the license's expiration date. Renewal requires 25 hours of continuing education, including at least 2 hours on pain and pain symptom management, 1 hour per year of implicit bias training, and a one-time human trafficking course.
Renewing a Michigan LPN license costs $131, compared with $212.90 for the initial license. These renewal fees are paid through MiPLUS and cover the license renewal itself; they do not include the NCLEX-PN exam fee or the cost of the required criminal background check and fingerprinting, which the board handles separately from renewal.
Required CE topics
- 1minimum 2 hours pain and pain symptom management
- 2implicit bias training (ongoing, 1 hour per year of the cycle, R 338.7004)
- 3human trafficking training (one-time)
Michigan Board of Nursing (Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, Bureau of Professional Licensing) continuing education rules · read 2026-09-03
How much does a Michigan LPN license cost?
Board fees exclude exam registration and fingerprinting · Michigan board fee schedule ↗ · read 2026-09-03
Moving to Michigan: endorsement and temporary permits
Michigan is not part of the Nurse Licensure Compact, so a license issued by a compact member state does not automatically allow a nurse to practice in Michigan. An LPN moving from another state must apply for a Michigan license by endorsement rather than relying on multistate licensure privileges.
Endorsement applicants apply online through MiPLUS and pay a $212.90 fee, the same as the initial license fee. Michigan requires verification through Nursys that the original license was based on passing the NCLEX-PN, official transcripts sent directly from the nursing school, a criminal background check, and completion of human trafficking and implicit bias training. Applicants must also meet the state's English-proficiency requirement. The board does not state whether a temporary permit is available, and Michigan has no separate state law exam.
Education and exam for an LPN license in Michigan
To become licensed as an LPN in Michigan, a candidate must complete a practical nursing program approved by the Michigan Board of Nursing, a CASN-accredited Canadian program, or an out-of-state program accredited by ACEN, CNEA, or CCNE, with official transcripts sent directly from the school. Non-accredited out-of-state programs need a letter confirming at least 40 weeks of theory and clinical practice. Candidates must pass the NCLEX-PN, normally within three years of graduation, or obtain a written certification of skills competency or a board extension.
What do LPNs earn in Michigan?
BLS OES May 2025 · 10,880 LPNs employed in Michigan · LPN salary in Michigan by city →
Nearby states
Sources
- Michigan Board of Nursing (Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, Bureau of Professional Licensing) ↗licensure, renewal, CE, and fee ruleshigh confidence
- michigan.gov/lara/bureau-list/bpl/health/hp-lic-health-prof/nursing/nu…
- aca-prod.accela.com/MILARA/GeneralProperty/PropertyLookUp.aspx
- ncsbn.org/public-files/NLC_Map.pdf
- Nursys ↗ national license verification
- BLS OES May 2025 Michigan LPN wages and employment
Read 2026-09-03. Rules and fees change; confirm with the board before acting.