Skip to content

Kansas LPN License: Lookup, Renewal, CE, and Fees

Kansas is a Nurse Licensure Compact state. LPNs renew every 2 years, complete 30 hours of continuing education per cycle, and pass the NCLEX-PN.

Kansas State Board of Nursing (KSBN)

Look up a Kansas LPN license

The board's search shows license status, expiry date, and any public discipline. Nursys Quick Confirm is a free national check you can use as a second source.

Compact
Yes
since 2019-07-01
Renewal
Every 2 years
CE per cycle
30 hours
Exam
NCLEX-PN
no state law exam
Initial fee
$75
Renewal fee
$85

Kansas State Board of Nursing (KSBN) · read 2026-09-03 · a dash means the board publishes no figure

Renewal and continuing education in Kansas

A Kansas LPN license renews every two years. The board sets the renewal deadline as the last day of the licensee's birth month, with odd birth years renewing in odd-numbered years and even birth years renewing in even-numbered years. Renewal requires completing 30 hours of continuing education, though the board does not name any specific mandatory topics. The board also does not state what happens if a license lapses past that deadline.

Renewing a Kansas LPN license costs $85, compared with the $75 fee for the initial license. Both figures cover only the license itself. The NCLEX-PN exam fee is paid separately to Pearson VUE, and the fingerprint-based background check, which costs $57 for applicants going through the exam or endorsement process, is a separate step as well. The board does not state whether renewal itself requires a new background check.

How much does a Kansas LPN license cost?

Initial license application
$75
Renewal, every 2 years
$85
NCLEX-PN registration
$200
paid to Pearson VUE, not the board

Board fees exclude exam registration and fingerprinting · Kansas board fee schedule ↗ · read 2026-09-03

Moving to Kansas: endorsement and temporary permits

Kansas has been a member of the Nurse Licensure Compact since July 1, 2019. This means an LPN who holds a multistate license issued by another compact state can practice in Kansas without applying for a separate Kansas license. An LPN whose current license is not multistate, or who lives in a non-compact state, must apply for licensure by endorsement through the Kansas State Board of Nursing before practicing in the state.

Endorsement applicants apply online through the board's My Portal system, sending official transcripts directly to KSBN and verifying the original license through Nursys or directly from the issuing state. A fingerprint-based background check costs $57. The application fee is $75 for a single-state license or $125 for a multistate license; multistate applicants must also meet the uniform licensure requirements and show a Kansas driver's license. Foreign-educated applicants add a credentials evaluation and English proficiency results. Kansas offers a temporary permit.

Education and exam for an LPN license in Kansas

To qualify for an LPN license in Kansas, an applicant must graduate from a board-approved school of practical nursing, or professional nursing, in the United States or from a board-approved foreign school. Official transcripts go directly to the Kansas State Board of Nursing, and foreign-educated applicants also submit a credentials evaluation report and English proficiency results. Candidates must then pass the NCLEX-PN, registered and paid for separately through Pearson VUE; the board does not name a separate state law exam.

How to become an LPN →

What do LPNs earn in Kansas?

Typical pay a year
$61,760
$29.69 an hour · 4% below the US figure
Entry level
$49,780
Top 10%
$77,290

BLS OES May 2025 · 7,530 LPNs employed in Kansas · LPN salary in Kansas by city →

Nearby states

StateCompactRenewalCE per cycleInitial feeLookup
KansasYesEvery 2 years30 hours$75Verify
ColoradoYesEvery 2 yearsNone—Verify
MissouriYesEvery 2 yearsNone$0Verify
NebraskaYesEvery 2 years20 hours$123Verify
OklahomaYesEvery 2 years24 hours$85Verify

Official boards of nursing · read 2026-09-03

Sources

Read 2026-09-03. Rules and fees change; confirm with the board before acting.

Explore next

← Back to the national LPN license guide