Oklahoma LPN License: Lookup, Renewal, CE, and Fees
Oklahoma is a Nurse Licensure Compact state. LPNs renew every 2 years, complete 24 hours of continuing education per cycle, and pass the NCLEX-PN.
Look up a Oklahoma LPN license
The board's search shows license status, expiry date, and any public discipline. Nursys Quick Confirm is a free national check you can use as a second source.
Oklahoma Board of Nursing · read 2026-09-03 · a dash means the board publishes no figure
Renewal and continuing education in Oklahoma
Oklahoma LPN licenses renew every two years, expiring on the last day of the license holder's birth month in odd-numbered years, while RN licenses expire in even years. Renewal requires completing 24 contact hours of continuing education; the board does not specify mandatory CE topics in this profile. The profile does not state what happens if a license lapses without renewal.
Renewing an Oklahoma LPN license costs $75, compared with $85 for the initial license. The NCLEX-PN exam fee and the fingerprint-based criminal background check are billed separately from these license fees and are part of getting licensed in the first place, not the renewal itself.
How much does a Oklahoma LPN license cost?
Board fees exclude exam registration and fingerprinting · Oklahoma board fee schedule ↗ · read 2026-09-03
Moving to Oklahoma: endorsement and temporary permits
Oklahoma is a member of the Nurse Licensure Compact, and the Board of Nursing issues both single-state and multistate LPN licenses. An LPN who already holds a multistate license from another compact state can generally practice in Oklahoma under that license without applying for a new one, but a nurse who moves their primary residence to Oklahoma must apply for endorsement within 60 days of the move, per the compact rule that took effect on January 2, 2024.
An LPN already licensed elsewhere applies for Oklahoma endorsement for $85, with license verification through Nursys (or from the original state if it does not use Nursys) and a fingerprint-based OSBI and FBI background check. Applicants must also show evidence of continued qualification within the past 5 years, such as 24 continuing education hours, 520 hours of work, a refresher course, or a passing NCLEX-PN score. Oklahoma requires no separate state law exam and offers a temporary permit.
Education and exam for an LPN license in Oklahoma
To become an LPN in Oklahoma, a candidate must graduate from a Board-approved practical nursing education program, which must include between 1,300 and 1,600 clock hours (32 to 40 semester credit hours) of classroom, clinical, and laboratory instruction; the board does not state a length in months. After graduation, the candidate must pass the NCLEX-PN exam. Oklahoma does not require a separate state jurisprudence or law exam.
What do LPNs earn in Oklahoma?
BLS OES May 2025 · 11,540 LPNs employed in Oklahoma · LPN salary in Oklahoma by city →
Nearby states
| State | Compact | Renewal | CE per cycle | Initial fee | Lookup |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Oklahoma | Yes | Every 2 years | 24 hours | $85 | Verify |
| Arkansas | Yes | Every 2 years | 15 hours | $100 | Verify |
| Colorado | Yes | Every 2 years | None | — | Verify |
| Kansas | Yes | Every 2 years | 30 hours | $75 | Verify |
| Missouri | Yes | Every 2 years | None | $0 | Verify |
| New Mexico | Yes | Every 2 years | 30 hours | $150 | Verify |
| Texas | Yes | Every 2 years | 20 hours | $75 | Verify |
Official boards of nursing · read 2026-09-03
Sources
- Oklahoma Board of Nursing ↗licensure, renewal, CE, and fee ruleshigh confidence
- oklahoma.gov/nursing/applications.html
- oklahoma.gov/nursing/nurse-licensure-compact.html
- oklahoma.gov/content/dam/ok/en/nursing/documents/cqlicenserenewal.pdf
- oklahoma.gov/content/dam/ok/en/nursing/documents/rnlpnnclex07.pdf
- oklahoma.gov/content/dam/ok/en/nursing/documents/endorseused07.pdf
- oklahoma.gov/content/dam/ok/en/nursing/documents/485rulesunofficialage…
- Nursys ↗ national license verification
- BLS OES May 2025 Oklahoma LPN wages and employment
Read 2026-09-03. Rules and fees change; confirm with the board before acting.