North Dakota Nursing License: Lookup, Renewal, CE, and Fees
North Dakota is a Nurse Licensure Compact state. RNs renew every 2 years, complete 12 hours of continuing education per cycle, and pass the NCLEX-RN.
Look up a North Dakota nursing license
The board's search shows license status, expiry date, and any public discipline. Nursys Quick Confirm is a free national check you can use as a second source.
North Dakota Board of Nursing · read 2026-09-02 · a dash means the board publishes no figure
Renewal and continuing education in North Dakota
North Dakota RN licenses are valid for two years and must be renewed before December 31 of the second year; a license issued through initial exam or endorsement expires December 31 of the following year. Renewal requires 12 contact hours of continuing education from the past two years and 400 hours of practice from the past four years. Exam-licensed nurses are exempt from the CE requirement at first renewal, endorsement-licensed nurses are not; the board does not state what happens if a license lapses.
Renewal costs $140, compared with $125 for the initial license. These fees cover only the renewal transaction; the NCLEX-RN exam, arranged through Pearson VUE, and the fingerprint-based criminal history record check required for licensure issuance are separate processes with their own costs, which the board does not state.
How much does a North Dakota RN license cost?
Board fees exclude exam registration and fingerprinting · North Dakota board fee schedule ↗ · read 2026-09-02
Moving to North Dakota: endorsement and temporary permits
North Dakota belongs to the Nurse Licensure Compact, so a registered nurse who already holds a multistate license from another compact state can practice in North Dakota under that license without applying for a new one. A nurse licensed only in a non-compact state, or one who wants a North Dakota-issued license, must apply through endorsement.
Endorsement applicants apply online and pay a $150 nonrefundable fee, and must submit an official transcript along with license verification sent through Nursys. North Dakota also requires a criminal history record check through its Bureau of Criminal Investigation and the FBI, using fingerprint cards sent to the state attorney general's office. Once the application, transcript, and verification are processed, the board may issue a 90-day nonrenewable temporary permit while the background check is pending. The board does not name a state jurisprudence exam.
Education and exam for an RN license in North Dakota
To become a registered nurse in North Dakota, a candidate must complete a nursing education program approved by the North Dakota Board of Nursing, or by another state's board, that includes supervised clinical training across the life span; the board does not specify a required degree level. Nurses educated outside the United States need a course-by-course credentials evaluation confirming English-language instruction or other proof of English proficiency. All candidates must pass the NCLEX-RN through Pearson VUE; no separate state jurisprudence exam is named.
What do RNs earn in North Dakota?
BLS OES May 2025 · 11,340 RNs employed in North Dakota · RN salary in North Dakota by city →
Nearby states
Sources
- North Dakota Board of Nursing ↗licensure, renewal, CE, and fee ruleshigh confidence
- ndbon.org/licensing/exam-us
- ndbon.org/licensing/exam-international
- ndbon.org/licensing/endorsement-us
- ndbon.org/licensing/endorsement/endorsement-faq
- ndbon.org/licensing/renewal/nursing-renewal
- ndbon.org/licensing/renewal/nurse-renewal-faq
- Nursys ↗ national license verification
- BLS OES May 2025 North Dakota RN wages and employment
Read 2026-09-02. Rules and fees change; confirm with the board before acting.