Maryland Nursing License: Lookup, Renewal, CE, and Fees
Maryland is a Nurse Licensure Compact state. RNs renew every 2 years, and pass the NCLEX-RN.
Look up a Maryland nursing license
The lookup runs on Maryland's state licensing portal, which covers RNs alongside other licensed professions. Nursys Quick Confirm is a free national check you can use as a second source.
Maryland Board of Nursing (Maryland Department of Health) · read 2026-09-02 · a dash means the board publishes no figure
Renewal and continuing education in Maryland
A Maryland RN license must be renewed every two years, expiring on the 28th day of the license holder's birth month; online renewal opens 90 days before that date and closes 30 days after. The board does not list a continuing education hour requirement, but it does require a one-time attestation on implicit bias and structural racism training, due at the first renewal that falls after April 1, 2026. The board does not state what happens to a license that lapses without renewal.
Renewing a Maryland RN license costs $191, slightly more than the $187 fee for an initial license. Neither figure includes the NCLEX-RN exam fee or the cost of a Maryland CJIS/Live Scan fingerprint criminal history check, which the board has required for initial licensure and, since 2025, for renewals on a rolling schedule; applicants pay the fingerprint vendor directly. The board does not state a separate late or reinstatement fee for renewals filed after the license expires.
Required CE topics
- 1implicit bias and structural racism training (one-time attestation at first renewal after 2026-04-01)
Maryland Board of Nursing (Maryland Department of Health) continuing education rules · read 2026-09-02
How much does a Maryland RN license cost?
Board fees exclude exam registration and fingerprinting · Maryland board fee schedule ↗ · read 2026-09-02
Moving to Maryland: endorsement and temporary permits
Maryland belongs to the Nurse Licensure Compact and has operated under the enhanced compact since January 19, 2018; it was also the first state to join the original compact, in 1999. A registered nurse who already holds a multistate license from another compact state can practice in Maryland under that license without applying for a separate Maryland license. A nurse coming from a non-compact state, or one who wants a Maryland-issued license, must instead apply by endorsement.
To apply by endorsement, a nurse must have an NCLEX-based license verified through Nursys.com, then complete a Maryland CJIS Live Scan fingerprint check and file the application within 48 hours of fingerprinting. The fee is $230, plus an optional $70 for a 90-day temporary license, available only to nurses without an active multistate license. Applicants must list Maryland or a non-compact state as primary residence; the board lists no state law exam, though foreign-educated nurses need a TruMerit CES report and proof of English proficiency.
Education and exam for an RN license in Maryland
Maryland requires candidates for RN licensure to complete a board-approved nursing program; the board does not specify whether that program must be an associate, bachelor's, or diploma track. Candidates must then pass the NCLEX-RN exam; the board does not mention a separate state law or jurisprudence exam. Graduates of programs in Puerto Rico or outside the United States must submit a TruMerit (CGFNS) Credentials Evaluation Service report and proof of English proficiency, such as Test of Spoken English scores, which expire after two years.
What do RNs earn in Maryland?
BLS OES May 2025 · 52,910 RNs employed in Maryland · RN salary in Maryland by city →
Nearby states
| State | Compact | Renewal | CE per cycle | Initial fee | Lookup |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Maryland | Yes | Every 2 years | — | $187 | Verify |
| Delaware | Yes | Every 2 years | 30 hours | $181 | Verify |
| Pennsylvania | Yes | Every 2 years | 30 hours | $95 | Verify |
| Virginia | Yes | Every 2 years | 30 hours | $190 | Verify |
| West Virginia | Yes | Every 2 years | 12 hours | $70 | Verify |
Official boards of nursing · read 2026-09-02
Sources
- Maryland Board of Nursing (Maryland Department of Health) ↗licensure, renewal, CE, and fee ruleshigh confidence
- health.maryland.gov/mbon/pages/services-fees.aspx
- health.maryland.gov/mbon/Pages/2025-nurse-fee-schedule-update.aspx
- health.maryland.gov/mbon/Pages/licensure-by-exam.aspx
- health.maryland.gov/mbon/pages/licensure-by-endorsement.aspx
- health.maryland.gov/mbon/Pages/olrenew-rnlp-details.aspx
- health.maryland.gov/mbon/pages/licensure-lic-info.aspx
- Nursys ↗ national license verification
- BLS OES May 2025 Maryland RN wages and employment
Read 2026-09-02. Rules and fees change; confirm with the board before acting.