Skip to content

New York LPN License: Lookup, Renewal, CE, and Fees

New York is not in the Nurse Licensure Compact, so its licenses are single-state. LPNs renew every 3 years, and pass the NCLEX-PN.

New York State Education Department, Office of the Professions (State Board for Nursing)

Look up a New York LPN license

The board's search shows license status, expiry date, and any public discipline. Nursys Quick Confirm is a free national check you can use as a second source.

Compact
No
Renewal
Every 3 years
CE per cycle
—
1 required topic
Exam
NCLEX-PN
no state law exam
Initial fee
$143
Renewal fee
$73

New York State Education Department, Office of the Professions (State Board for Nursing) · read 2026-09-03 · a dash means the board publishes no figure

Renewal and continuing education in New York

New York does not publish a specific renewal month. The LPN license itself does not expire, but the registration certificate that authorizes practice is valid for three years and must be renewed on that cycle, with the first period prorated. The board does not state a set number of continuing education hours for renewal; separately, LPNs must complete New York State Education Department-approved infection control coursework every four years, or qualify for an exemption. The board does not state what happens if a registration lapses.

Renewing the registration costs $73, compared with the $143 fee paid at initial licensure. The NCLEX-PN examination fee is a one-time cost tied to initial licensure, not renewal. The board does not describe a fingerprinting requirement; applicants disclose their criminal history, and New York reviews moral character case by case.

Required CE topics

  1. 1Infection control coursework (NYSED-approved) every 4 years or exemption

New York State Education Department, Office of the Professions (State Board for Nursing) continuing education rules · read 2026-09-03

How much does a New York LPN license cost?

Initial license application
$143
Renewal, every 3 years
$73
NCLEX-PN registration
$200
paid to Pearson VUE, not the board

Board fees exclude exam registration and fingerprinting · New York board fee schedule ↗ · read 2026-09-03

Moving to New York: endorsement and temporary permits

New York is not a member of the Nurse Licensure Compact, so an LPN moving from another state cannot practice on a multistate license. Instead, the nurse must apply for New York licensure by endorsement, submitting verification of education and the out-of-state license before practicing in New York. The board states that New York requires no state jurisprudence exam, and it does not mention an English proficiency test.

Endorsement applicants use LPN Pathway #3: an online Form 1 application with the $143 fee, a Form 2 school verification, and confirmation of the out-of-state license through Nursys or Form 3. Applicants must also complete infection control coursework or qualify for an exemption. A $35 limited permit is available, but only to applicants who have never taken the NCLEX-PN. The board does not describe a fingerprint-based background check; applicants disclose criminal history instead.

Education and exam for an LPN license in New York

New York requires a high school diploma or equivalent, plus graduation from a practical nursing education program acceptable to the New York State Education Department: a state-registered LPN or RN program, a program approved by another state, or one lasting at least nine months. Graduates of non-registered programs must also complete approved infection control coursework. Candidates then apply to the board, pay the $143 fee, and take the NCLEX-PN exam through Pearson VUE, or another examination the board accepts.

How to become an LPN →

What do LPNs earn in New York?

Typical pay a year
$67,180
$32.30 an hour · 4% above the US figure
Entry level
$54,480
Top 10%
$81,530

BLS OES May 2025 · 39,400 LPNs employed in New York · LPN salary in New York by city →

Nearby states

StateCompactRenewalCE per cycleInitial feeLookup
New YorkNoEvery 3 years—$143Verify
ConnecticutYesEvery year2 hours$150Verify
MassachusettsPendingEvery 2 years15 hours$230Verify
New JerseyYesEvery 2 years30 hours$200Verify
PennsylvaniaYesEvery 2 yearsNone$95Verify
VermontYesEvery 2 years—$75Verify

Official boards of nursing · read 2026-09-03

Sources

Explore next

← Back to the national LPN license guide