Illinois LPN License: Lookup, Renewal, CE, and Fees
Illinois is not in the Nurse Licensure Compact, so its licenses are single-state. LPNs renew every 2 years, complete 20 hours of continuing education per cycle, and pass the NCLEX-PN.
Look up a Illinois LPN license
The lookup runs on Illinois's state licensing portal, which covers LPNs alongside other licensed professions. Nursys Quick Confirm is a free national check you can use as a second source.
Illinois Board of Nursing (Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation, IDFPR, Division of Professional Regulation) · read 2026-09-03 · a dash means the board publishes no figure
Renewal and continuing education in Illinois
Illinois LPN licenses renew every two years, expiring January 31 of each odd-numbered year, with renewal due during the month before expiration. Renewal requires 20 hours of continuing education, including one hour each of sexual harassment prevention and implicit bias awareness training every renewal, one hour on Alzheimer's disease and dementia care for LPNs with direct adult patient contact, and mandated reporter training every six years for those who work with children. The board does not state what happens to a lapsed license.
The renewal fee is $80 for the two-year cycle, compared with a $50 initial license fee. The NCLEX-PN exam registration, arranged through Continental Testing Services, carries its own separate fee, and any fingerprint-based criminal history check required during licensing is also billed separately from these amounts. The board does not state additional renewal costs beyond the $80 fee.
Required CE topics
- 1sexual harassment prevention training 1 hr (every renewal)
- 2implicit bias awareness training 1 hr (every renewal, from the 2025 LPN renewal)
- 3Alzheimer's disease and other dementias diagnosis/treatment/care 1 hr (from the 2025 LPN renewal, for LPNs with direct patient interaction with adults 26+)
- 4mandated reporter training every 6 years (only if the nurse works with children)
Illinois Board of Nursing (Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation, IDFPR, Division of Professional Regulation) continuing education rules · read 2026-09-03
How much does a Illinois LPN license cost?
Board fees exclude exam registration and fingerprinting · Illinois board fee schedule ↗ · read 2026-09-03
Moving to Illinois: endorsement and temporary permits
Illinois is not a member of the Nurse Licensure Compact, so an LPN licensed in another state cannot practice in Illinois on a multistate license. Instead, a nurse moving to Illinois must apply for licensure by endorsement through the Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation before practicing in the state.
Endorsement applicants apply online through the IDFPR licensing portal or by mail, pay a $50 fee, and provide proof of graduation from an approved practical nursing program, evidence of passing the NCLEX-PN, and verification of every license held in other states. Illinois also requires a fingerprint-based criminal history check. A $25 temporary permit, valid for six months, is available while the endorsement application is pending. The board does not list a separate state law or jurisprudence exam for endorsement applicants.
Education and exam for an LPN license in Illinois
Illinois requires graduation from a Department-approved practical nursing program, shown by an ED-NUR certification form or official transcripts with the school seal, or a certificate of completion of pre-licensure requirements from another US jurisdiction. Applicants educated abroad need a Department-approved credentials evaluation and an English proficiency exam, such as the TOEFL or IELTS, if English is not their first language. All candidates must pass the NCLEX-PN, registered through Continental Testing Services for Illinois applicants; the board does not list a separate state jurisprudence exam.
What do LPNs earn in Illinois?
BLS OES May 2025 · 17,440 LPNs employed in Illinois · LPN salary in Illinois by city →
Nearby states
| State | Compact | Renewal | CE per cycle | Initial fee | Lookup |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Illinois | No | Every 2 years | 20 hours | $50 | Verify |
| Indiana | Yes | Every 2 years | None | $50 | Verify |
| Iowa | Yes | Every 3 years | 36 hours | $143 | Verify |
| Kentucky | Yes | Every year | 14 hours | $125 | Verify |
| Missouri | Yes | Every 2 years | None | $0 | Verify |
| Wisconsin | Yes | Every 2 years | None | $57 | Verify |
Official boards of nursing · read 2026-09-03
Sources
- Illinois Board of Nursing (Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation, IDFPR, Division of Professional Regulation) ↗licensure, renewal, CE, and fee ruleshigh confidence
- idfpr.illinois.gov/content/dam/soi/en/web/idfpr/renewals/apply/forms/L…
- idfpr.illinois.gov/content/dam/soi/en/web/idfpr/faq/dpr/lpn-ce-faqs.pd…
- idfpr.illinois.gov/checklicense.html
- ilga.gov/commission/Jcar/admincode/068/068013000A00300R.html
- ilga.gov/commission/jcar/admincode/068/068013000A00400R.html
- ilga.gov/commission/jcar/admincode/068/068013000A01300R.html
- Nursys ↗ national license verification
- BLS OES May 2025 Illinois LPN wages and employment
Read 2026-09-03. Rules and fees change; confirm with the board before acting.